Wayne Rooney has taken home the Player of the Year Trophy at this year’s PFA Awards

Voted for by other other professional footballers in the country, the PFA Player’s Player of the Year is considered truly top honors in the business.

Defying competition from international superstars Didier Drogba, Carlos Tevez and Cesc Fabregas; Rooney becomes the first British player to win the accolade since Steven Gerrard in 2006.

Rooney, 24, said: “It’s a great feeling to win because it’s voted for by the players. It’s a great honour and I’m really proud.”

“I remember coming here in 2005 and 2006 to win the young player of the year award. I saw the players winning the main one and it’s something I’ve aimed for since.”

Wayne also gave some insight into the groin injury that many were fearing might keep him from the start of England’s World Cup campaign:

“The groin will be fine for the World Cup, there are no worries about that,” said the Nike T90 Laser III wearer. “I’m hoping to play for United in the last game of the season.

The other big winner of the night was Aston Villa’s James Milner, who received the PFA Young Player of the Year.

Speaking at the event, Milner paid tribute to manager Martin O’Neill’s decision to utilise him in the centre of the park.

“I’ve been moved into the middle and that suits me as it helps me influence the game a bit more,” he said.

“Maybe sometimes wide right you want to influence the game but you just can’t get yourself into it.”

Many are tipping the versatile Nike CTR360 wearer to make the plane to South Africa this summer, and surely this latest award will have done little to damage his claim.

Teams of the Year

Premier League team of the year:

Joe Hart (Man City, Birmingham on loan), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea), Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Patrice Evra (Man Utd), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), James Milner (Aston Villa), Darren Fletcher (Man Utd), Antonio Valencia (Man Utd), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), Didier Drogba (Chelsea).

Championship team of the year:

Lee Camp (Nottingham Forest), Chris Gunter (Nottingham Forest), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle), Ashley Williams (Swansea), Jose Enrique (Newcastle), Graham Dorrans (West Brom), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff), Kevin Nolan (Newcastle), Charlie Adam (Blackpool), Andy Carroll (Newcastle), Michael Chopra (Cardiff).

League One team of the year:

Kelvin Davies (Southampton), Frazer Richardson (Charlton), Patrick Kisnorbo (Leeds), Gary Doherty (Norwich), Ian Harte (Carlisle), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Jason Puncheon (Southampton), Robert Snodgrass (Leeds), Nicky Bailey (Charlton), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Grant Holt (Norwich).

League Two team of the year:

Kasper Schmeichel (Notts County), John Brayford (Crewe), Craig Dawson (Rochdale), Ian Sharps (Rotherham), Tom Kennedy (Rochdale), Ben Davies (Notts County), Stephen Dawson (Bury), Gary Jones (Rochdale), Nicky Law (Rotherham), Lee Hughes (Notts County), Adam Le Fondre (Rotherham).

Receive exclusive content and the latest football boot news. Just click onto Facebook or to join the leading community for footballers who care for what they wear!

Written By
More from Felipe


The Oranje of Holland oust World and European Champs Spain from the...
Read More
Join the Conversation


Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *