Wayne Rooney has hit back at accusations that he dived to win a penalty against Arsenal by proclaiming that he’s an “honest player.”
In the match at Old Trafford, the London team were winning 1 – 0 and had been denied a penalty of their own when Rooney converted his spot kick to put United on the way to a 2 – 1 win.
But amid all the furore that accompanied Eduardo’s two match European ban for diving against Celtic, post match analysis of the incident shows that Rooney may have been going to ground before he was touched by the Arsenal goalkeeper Manuel Almunia.
Everyone who watches me play knows I am an honest player.
I play the game as honestly as I can. If the referee gives a penalty there is nothing you can do.
If they want to take punishment further it is down to UEFA and the people who run the game. As players you just want to play.
Diving has been in the game for years. Probably the coverage the game gets now, with all the cameras around, it gets highlighted a bit more. But it hasn’t got any worse.