Riyad Mahrez wins PFA Award

Mahrez PFA Winner

Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez was awarded the PFA Player of the Year trophy, while Spurs midfielder Dele Alli picked up the PFA Young Player of the Year award.


Riyad Mahrez has been named PFA Player of the Year following his remarkable season with the Premier League leaders, Leicester City. Mahrez has been a consistent top former this season helping Leicester to top the table and has scored 17 goals and provided 11 assists to date.

The Algerian won despite tough competition from Tottenham forward Harry Kane, Arsenal midfielder Mesut Ozil, West Ham United midfielder Dimitri Payet and teammates Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante.

Mahrez signed for Leicester in 2014 from the French second-tier side Le Havre. He began to impress in Leicester’s escape from relegation last season, but this season Mahrez took off from the start and has not looked back.

Young Player of the Year – Dele Alli

dele alli pfa award

Spurs midfielder Dele Alli, who has also had a phenomenal season, was rewarded with the Young Player of the Year award. 

Mahrez said his Leicester team-mates deserved to take the plaudits for his success. “All the credit is for them, seriously,” he said. “And my manager and the staff. Without them I wouldn’t receive this award and I wouldn’t score. It’s the team spirit. I want to dedicate it to them.

“I’m very grateful to receive this award, it’s a pleasure. It’s extra special because, if the players vote for me, it’s because they’ve seen I’ve been great this year so I’m happy.”

The team of the year was also confirmed, with Tottenham & Leicester dominating proceedings as they had four players each voted into the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

PFA Team of the Year 2016




Written By
More from Michael D

Under Armour | Aston Villa Kit

Under Armour are the new kit partners for Aston Villa and release...
Read More