After winning the title of European Footballer of the Year, Barcelona’s Lionel Messi is in line to make it a double after being shortlisted for the Fifa World Player of the Year award.

Messi is on a shortlist of five along with Barca team mates Xavi and Andres Iniesta plus Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaka from Real Madrid.

Messi picked up the Ballon d’Or earlier this month.

England stars Steven Gerrard, Wayne Rooney, Frank Lampard and John Terry all failed to progress after being included in an original pool of 23 contenders in October.

Last week, the Argentine beat Ronaldo to the European Footballer of the Year award by a massive margin – 473 points to 233.

Messi is aiming to become the first Argentinian player to win the Fifa trophy.

Meanwhile, England’s Kelly Smith has been shortlisted for the women’s award.

The 31-year-old, who plays her club football in the United States, starred in the England side that reached the final of Euro 2009.

The other nominees are 2008 winner Marta and her Brazil team-mate Cristiane, as well as Germany duo Inka Grings and Birgit Prinz.

The winners will then be revealed at the 19th Fifa World Player Gala in Zurich on 21st December.

Also at the event, the best 11 players of the year as chosen by over 50,000 professional footballers from all over the world will be honoured in the Fifa/FIFPro World XI.

The Fifa Puskas Award will be presented to scorer of the ‘most beautiful goal’ of 2009.

Nominees for 2009 Fifa World Player of the Year award:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Real Madrid
Andres Iniesta (Spain), Barcelona
Kaka (Brazil), Real Madrid
Lionel Messi (Argentina), Barcelona
Xavi (Spain) Barcelona

Nominees for 2009 Fifa Women’s World Player of the Year:

Cristiane (Brazil)
Inka Grings (Germany)
Marta (Brazil)
Birgit Prinz (Germany)
Kelly Smith (England)

Written By
More from Felipe


Here's Oh Kay from Andy Kay, the most influential football columnist around....if...
Read More


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *