ryan giggs pfa player of the yearRyan Giggs has been crowned as PFA Player of the Year for the first time.

The Manchester United player finished on top of the pool which included his team mates Nemnaja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Cristiano Ronaldo and Edwin van der Sar along with Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard.

Desapite a near two-decade long senior career at Old Trafford and a host of honours including 10 Premier League titles and 2 Champions League successes, the PFA honour had always eluded him.'  Giggs was naturally delighted saying:

ryan giggs pfa player of the year It’s right up there with personal accolades – it’s the best to have as it’s voted by your fellow players.

I’ve been fortunate to win a lot of trophies, I won the young player award twice, but this is the big one.

It’s an exciting season. I think it is going to go right to the wire, there’s big game after big game now. That is what you want and need at a club like Manchester United.

Aston Villa forward Ashley Young took the Young Player of the Year award.

Premier League team of the year: Edwin Van der Sar (Manchester United), Glen Johnson (Portsmouth), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Ryan Giggs (Manchester United), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Fernando Torres (Liverpool).

Championship team: Keiren Westwood (Coventry), Kyle Naughton (Sheff Utd), Roger Johnson (Cardiff), Richard Stearman (Wolves), Daniel Fox (Coventry), Michael Kightly (Wolves), Stephen Hunt (Reading), Joe Ledley (Cardiff), Jordi Gomez (Swansea, on loan from RCD Espanyol), Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolves), Jason Scotland (Swansea).

League One team: Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe), Neal Eardley (Oldham), Jack Hobbs (Leicester), Sean O’Hanlon, Dean Lewington (both MK Dons), Fabian Delph (Leeds), Matt Oakley (Leicester), Chris Taylor (Oldham), George Boyd (Peterborough), Rickie Lambert (Bristol Rovers), Matt Fryatt (Leicester).

League Two team: Scott Shearer (Wycombe), Neil Austin (Darlington), Simon King (Gillingham), David McCracken (Wycombe), Tom Kennedy (Rochdale), Omar Daley (Bradford), Dany N’Guessan (Lincoln), Ben Davies (Shrewsbury), Tommy Doherty (Wycombe), Andy Bishop (Bury), Grant Holt (Shrewsbury).

Written By
More from Felipe


Football legends share how it feels to wear the England shirt.
Read More
Join the Conversation


Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *