The Football Writers’ Association have voted for Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard ahead of Manchester United’s Ryan Giggs and Wayne Rooney.

28-year-old Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has topped the poll of journalists ahead of Manchester United’s Ryan Giggs, Wayne Rooney, Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo and Michael Carrick. to win the accolade, which has been running since 1948.

The England midfielder succeeds Cristiano Ronaldo, winner for the past two years. Gerrard is the first Liverpool player to win the prestigious award since John Barnes picked up the trophy back in 1990.

Steve Bates
, the chairman of the Football Writers Association:

WRITERS FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR Steven’s performances this season have been of the highest quality.

His drive and desire have underpinned Liverpool’s Premier League title challenge and ensured a tight finish to the season.

Steven is clearly in his prime and quite rightly rated one of the finest midfield players of his generation, and the FWA are delighted to honour his contribution to club and country.

Steven Gerrard Football Boots

Gerrard chooses the Adidas Predator, and currently will be seen playing in Adidas Predator PowerSwerve TRX boots in a black and white colourway (officially Black/Running White/True Blue).

Gerrards boots

Order the Adidas Predator PowerSwerve football boot – here

Written By
More from Felipe


Rooney and Torres team up in the latest Nike viral for the...
Read More
Join the Conversation


  1. says: ako harry

    i really do appreciate that at last steve has been found to a player worth honours because from about three seasons ago gerard had already created an impact in the english premier league and also the chapions league scoring good passes and every thing you expert from a professional footballer of his class i say lets hiele the king of supprises.

Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *