FIFA Has today revealed the nominees for it’s prestigious Golden Ball award.

FIFA's 2010 World Cup Golden Ball Trophy

The players eligible for the award are those who FIFA decrees the finest of this summer’s tournament – and will be crowned the Golden Ball winner of this tournament.

The nominees are:

Diego Forlan (Uruguay)
Architect of the team˘ attack, very influential, great impact for his team, provider of quality final passes, goal scorer, set pieces/shots from long range

Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)

Huge work rate, efficient, good dribbler, creates problems to each defence, good goal scorer

Andres Iniesta (Spain)
Very fine ball-playing attacking midfielder, a star for the team, impressive dribbling ability

Lionel Messi (Argentina)
Outstanding in his pace and creativity for his team, dribbling, shooting, passing Ĺ› spectacular and efficient

Mesut Oezil (Germany)

A real talent for the present and the future, quick feet and great vision, good final and decisive passes

Arjen Robben (Netherlands)
Very good pace and dribbling skills, wonderful ability to cut inside from the right, effective to his team

Bastian Schweinsteiger (
Impressive by his first pass (forward and accurate), very good passer, has moments of individual brilliance, ball-winner

Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands)
A maestro in midfield, exceptional work rate, the engine of Netherland˘ attacks, excellent passer and scorer

David Villa (Spain)
Top scorer; quick, two footed, very good on one-on-one situations, provides good final passes, excellent finisher

Xavi (Spain)
The metronome and the engine of the Spanish team, very influential in the passing style of the game, one of the finest midfielders in the tournament

Who would your winner be?

Written By
More from Kyle Elliot


We get our hands on the scorching hot Warrior Superheat Pro and...
Read More
Join the Conversation


  1. says: Ben

    Honestly i think messi didn’t deserve the ballon d’or last year. it should have gone to Xavi. i think last year should have been Xavi’s year and this year should be messi’s. but then again Xavi may win the world cup and messi couldn’t. I’m surprised Gyan is on the list. i guess they’re mostly judging this based on the World Cup.

  2. says: Mads

    I’m a bit surprised not to see Thomas MĂĽller. He has been vital for Germany, you saw yourself what happened when he was suspended: The team lost.
    I’m of course not saying that he (or the lack of him) was the reason for Germany to be beaten by Spain, because Spain played some quality football.
    Either way my vote goes for Villa

  3. says: brian

    I agree…Muller must be on this list, Oezil and him were on the same level. I´m surprised to see Messi here. He is the best in the world but I´m not sure if he did enough to put his name on this list.
    Adidas should be happy. There are 7 out of 10 players that represent the german brand. Plus, its three ranges (predator, f50 adizero and adipure) are being represented by the nominees.

  4. says: Adipurity

    Diego Forlan deserves this he is the only player who can hit a beautiful bend on the jabulani and he is a master of dead ball situations

  5. says: Chad

    Out of this list, the winner has to be Forlan. He embodied the soul and spirit of Uruguay’s never say die attitude. When they needed a goal, he gave it to them. Also, his touch, vision, and passing were brilliant. This is Forlans year.

  6. says: NP9


    Thank you DIEGO for being Uruguayan!!!

    I believe as Adipurity and Chad that this should be Forlan’s year, he lead Atletico Madrid to the Europa League title and to the final match of the Copa del Rey and if that wasn’t enough he was the soul of the team that lead us (Uruguay) to the 4th place in the World Cup.

Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *