It’s that time again, as FIFA get ready to present their Puskas Award for best goal of the year.

Wayne Rooney Leo Messi and Neymar are all competing for the 2011 FIFA Puskas award for best goal

Named after legendary Hungarian attacker Ferenc Puskás, the FIFA Puskas award is simply given to the greatest goal scored in a calendar year.

And best of all, it’s voted for by the people who matter the most: the Fans. No backroom politics or stuffy committees muddying the waters on this one!

One of our favourite things about the' FIFA Puskás is that it levels the playing field for professional players all around the world; a great goal is a great goal, no matter where it was scored.

The best example was last year’s finalists, which saw relative unknowns on the world stage like Irishman Matthew Burrows and Sweden’s Linus Hallenius go shoulder-to-shoulder with Messi, Nasri and Van Bronckhorst.

This year, however, it’s a clash of the titans as Leo Messi, Wayne Rooney and Neymar go head-to-head in the competition’s final three.

Leo Messi – vs Arsenal – Wearing the adidas F50 adiZero

Neymar – vs Flamengo – Wearing the Nike Superfly III

Wayne Rooney – vs Manchester City – Wearing the Nike T90 Laser III

The winner will be presented their award during the Ballon d’Or gala on January 9th 2012, and you have to get your vote in on FIFA’s website before then to have a say in who wins!

If you’ve already done that, make sure you come back to here on and tell us why you think your favourite goal deserves the FIFA Puskas award!

More from Kyle Elliot


Puma's v1.10 is relaunched for the World Cup with this scorching colourway...
Read More


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *